Joseph Giddings' Gear Shop

Still Alive

And kicking, too. 🙂

The last six weeks have been hectic.  Aside from having to go back to a full time job after spending 4 months without a job, there is the steep learning curve I have to climb in order to learn how to do my new job.  While I had an extensive background in phone system work and the stuff that goes with it, I haven’t worked with one with this level of complexity or size.  When I am done at the end of the day, all my poor beleaguered brain wants to do it shut down and play mindless games like Ninja Gaiden II or Batman: Arkham Asylum.

This has resulted in several negative side effects.

  1. My reading has taken a hit.  Which is really bad, because I have a review assignment for Bull Spec, and I have to read the book that came before it so I can review it properly.
  2. I don’t want to sit and write.  My brain is just plain tired at the point in the day where I could sit and do it.  I haven’t even had many story ideas come to me over the last 6 weeks.
  3. I don’t want to sit and edit.  I have stories written that need polishing, but the energy needed to do that just isn’t there.

I know this is a temporary thing, and as I progress into my new job I will find a level surface on the learning curve and my brain will get back into the swing of things.  I’ve already seen my reading pick up, and just today I managed to get another draft of “Don’t Shoot the Messenger” put together.

Of course, I don’t have a printer at the moment, so printing it off for red pen action isn’t possible.

I give it another month, tops, before I’m ready to take on the task of writing something.  I have some new ideas forming, but nothing solid at the moment.  I also have a lot of older ideas that need attention.  Maybe I can start there and see where it takes me?

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

