Joseph Giddings' Gear Shop

The Writing Space

I’ve been pretty busy this week and last, getting parts of the house cleaned up now that we are past some of the busier parts of the year.  One of more spectacular accomplishments is where I laid siege to the home office and started cleaning it up.  Up until now, all of my writing has occurred at the laptop on the dining room table.  While its a good spot to work at, the chair isn’t really designed for me to sit on for hours on end writing and editing.  So, getting a place to write was of high importance to me.  A computer already sat here, running, I just needed to be able to get to it.

This morning when I finished The Falling Machine by Andrew Mayer, I sat down at this desk and computer and wrote my review.  I will admit, the keyboard is junk, but after a few days I will get used to it.  I had to remove a lot of my toys from the desk since they were distracting me, but you will see that I left Cobra Commander, Batman, and Two-Face up there, along with a picture of my wife and son from a couple of years ago.

I did manage to get some writing completed this week, but the story I started on Monday was put on hold when I decided I needed to get the office in order so I could work in there.  It’s been a lot of work to get it to the point its at now, but next week I should be able to sit here and get a lot more done, especially now that I’ve gotten most of my review assignments out of the way.

I tried to decide if I needed to remove internet access from this computer, so that won’t be a distraction, but I won’t worry about that for now.  If it becomes a problem, then I will deal with it.

On another note, I have some stories out in the world that are well beyond their time limits.  “Karma” is at a pro market that has read beyond the date I submitted it, as is “Last Man Standing.”  Of course, those two stories are at markets Duotropes lists in its “25 Most Challenging.”  Geeze, what was I thinking? LOL  Of course, “Terminal” is at a tough place, as well.  So is “Lifestealer.”  Overstepping my bounds?  Not really, just making sure I start at the top and work my way down.

Have a good weekend. 🙂

One response

  1. Might want to get a new keyboard. Your writing is worth it.

    March 11, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Leave a Reply

