Joseph Giddings' Gear Shop

I need more hours in the day!

I really do.  Despite being unemployed, I have a lot of stuff to do.  Searching for work only takes but so long, and after that you are left with time to do things like housework, yardwork, and everything else in between.  It’s stuff that needs to get done, and since I am home all day long, it makes perfect sense to do it.

However, I also want time to write and read.  Problem is, with all this other stuff going on, they get put aside.  I want to make time to do those things, but really to read and to write you have to dedicate more than just a few minutes.  If I can get 30 minutes, that is great.  Fortunately, the house is now in order after some mega-cleaning, so the most that needs to get done is laundry and dishes.  So, I have more time to write.

And so, “Lifestealer” is now out the door and on the market.  I have another story up for editing, one called “Sleeper,” but it will get bumped back as I take several days to write some of these story ideas I have.  I have a lot of them stewing, a couple started, and I think a few days of straight up writing would allow me to get a lot of them finished.  Also, I have a lot of reading to accomplish, and I think some dedicated time for that each day would go a long way to me putting a dent into the reading pile.

I am well over halfway through Wolves of the Calla by Stephen King.  I normally love his writing, but this book in particular is making me hate him.  I’ve been trying to read it for going on two or more years now, and I am finally tired of it being in my stack.  When I finish it, it will be a while before I pick up another of his books, and even then it will be to finish this cursed Dark Tower series.

The days are growing warmer and the desire to sit inside and write grows weaker, but this is what I want to be doing, so I just have to be sure I get the time to satisfy that urge, as well.

Leave a Reply

