Joseph Giddings' Gear Shop

Back to Business

Now that I have posted my previously published book reviews here on my blog, I will get back to my regular running of the mouth and all that good stuff.  I have another book review pending, but that one isn’t even in print yet, and the magazine won’t even be out for several months.  So, you can see it then. 🙂

Anyway, I finished up the final polish on a story called “Terminal” late last week and started it on its run with publishers.  The final draft was so different than the first draft, and I owe that to my new editorial process.  I really managed to dig out more of the story without sacrificing what was already there.  I hope it will find a home quickly.

I also pulled out a story I wrote late last year called “Lifestealer” and started the red-pen process on that.  It’s a good story, but I don’t know what happened about mid-way.  I think I stopped writing it one day in the middle, and then came back the next day and continued, but maybe something new came to mind and I changed it up.  No matter, though, as the second draft flows better from beginning to end and is overall a better story.  It’s stewing at the moment, but I will get back to it soon enough.

I also picked up a story idea from last year called, tentatively, “The Spire of the World,” and fleshed it out and started writing it.  So far so good on that one.

I’ve found myself rather hooked on reading books about writing, lately.  After Orson Scott Card’s How to Write Science Fiction & Fantasy book, I dove into his book Characters & Viewpoint, which I found to also be a great book with a lot of interesting things to say about writing.  He goes into how to create a believable character and how to make sure you have a clear distinction between major, minor, and walk-on characters.  Additionally, he goes into perspectives and how to make sure you are using the right viewpoint for your story.

For now, though, I will concentrate on writing and editing, as I am finding a lot of joy in the editing process now.  I’m starting to better see where holes are in my stories, as well as finding ways of making them better and feel more alive.  So yeah, its back to business for me, the business of being a writer who still has something to prove to the world out there.

Leave a Reply

