Joseph Giddings' Gear Shop

Back in the Saddle

I have been doing well this week.  I wrote Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday, starting and finishing a science fiction story called “Sleeper.”  I spent time today getting my finished stuff organized and getting pieces back out onto the market, and began to move forward with the edits on a story that is titled “Brass Spiders.”  It’s getting a new name before it’s done, but I’m well on my way to getting myself back into the habit of writing.

I’m particularly proud of “Sleeper,” because it was a challenging story to write, where I was trying to intentionally confuse the reader about who was the focus in each scene.  Only at the end do you figure it out, but you also get another surprise before its all over and done with.  It needs some editing and polish, but I’m particularly proud of it because it made me really think about how I was moving the story along.  When switching point of views between two people who, for all intents and purposes, are exactly the same, you need to be on the ball to make sure you stay true to your goal.  When I reached the point where the persons had to be dealt with in a split, I began to wonder if I was good enough to pull it off.  I decided at worst I would learn from it, and I pushed on through.

So, 6500 words later I had a finished story and I felt like I did it pretty well.  Editing should tighten it up, and I’m actually looking forward to that.

I know, shocker!  I’m looking forward to editing something.

Leave a Reply

