Joseph Giddings' Gear Shop

Editing Disaster

I hate editing.  I can happily write and write and write, but when I sit down to edit a story, I lose interest and toss it aside.  This is not an acceptable behavior, and I intend to stop it.  How else will I be able to find areas to improve if I cannot look at what I have done before and see what I did wrong?  I had great intentions when I wrote all of this stuff, and now I need to wrap it up and get it going somewhere, whether it be to the slush pile in some editor’s email box, or tucked away into a dark corner of my hard drive to live in obscurity.

Toward this end, today I compiled a list of my short stories.  All of them.  I came up with a list of 42 total stories.  The work is staggering…

  • 9 stories haven’t even been written yet, they’re just ideas
  • 13 were started and never completed for some reason or another
  • 4 have been completed, but haven’t been printed for reading/editing purposes
  • 8 have been printed and never read, let alone edited
  • 2 are trapped in editing, never reaching the final draft state
  • Only 6 have been actually submitted for consideration
  • 1 has sold
  • 1 has been pushed into the rewrite pile

Wow, that’s an epic list.  So, out of 42 stories, 1 is sold and 5 more are in the submission bin.  1 of the stories on this list may actually be a novel idea, so it may get moved.  So, that leaves 35 short stories in some state of disrepair.  This is nuts!

So, now that I have a list, I need to see if any need to be ditched, then, start at the top and work my way down.  Take one story, work it to final draft, submit it, and jump to the next one.  And so on.  As for writing, well, I have several ideas there that will keep me busy for a little while, so that’s another way to keep working on the list.  I have to get to work on this stuff.  Admitting that I have left all this stuff to collect dust is rather embarrassing, but I’m ready to fix that.

~clicks open his red pen and takes a deep breath~

Here we go!

One response

  1. Good luck with getting through your list. Editing is tough. It is best to do it in small segments so that you don’t get bored. Congrats on selling on of your short stories. I hope you sell more.

    January 6, 2011 at 7:01 pm

Leave a Reply

