Joseph Giddings' Gear Shop

End of 2010

I’m still here, fair lurkers, I’ve just been occupied with unemployment and the holidays.  I wish I could say I’ve been getting writing accomplished in the three weeks I’ve been out of work, but so far the most I’ve completed is a poor excuse for a short story and about 1500 words on my novel.  I want to work on these things, but I cannot either find the time or the will.  Hopefully, next week will allow me to settle into some sort of a routine, and maybe I can get a dedicated writing space setup, so I can have a real “work” area.

At the beginning of 2010, I laid out some goals for myself.

  • Have three short stories on market (Optional: sell one)
  • Have a novel on the market (Optional: sell it)

I knew the second one probably wouldn’t happen, but I had it there to have a point of reference.  Also, in some way, since I knew it wouldn’t happen, I could use it to spur me forward into 2011.  Something like “Well, Joe, you failed to do this one last year, you going to let that happen again this year?”

So how did I do?  Well, lets see…

  • Six stories were on the market at some point in time (“Goliath,” “Harvest Moon,” “Karma,” “Last Man Standing,” “The Duel,” and “The Odd Case of Mrs. Phillips”)
  • I sold one (“The Duel”)
  • Several book reviews published in Bull Spec
  • Several book reviews published online at Tangent Online

Not too bad, if you ask me, for my first year out of the gate in seriously pursuing a career in writing.  I also wrote over 236k words between January 1 and today, and would’ve been more had I been more motivated in kicking my ass into gear during some of the summer months.  But, I’m learning important lessons about the craft of writing and most of all, the job itself.  Things like you have to write every day, make it a habit, and if you miss a day, you have to make up for it on the back end.  There is no getting ahead.  You are either current, or behind.  And so on.

Despite my falling short on many things, I feel I did well, and I am looking forward to 2011 being an even better year.

Oh yeah, Bull Spec #4 is out, and in its pages you can see my reviews of The Horns of Ruin by Tim Akers and The Strange Affair of Spring Heeled Jack by Mark Hodder.

Happy New Year, everyone.  I will make a post with my goals for 2011 once it gets here.

One response

  1. Overall, I would say you did pretty well.

    December 31, 2010 at 4:24 pm

Leave a Reply

