Joseph Giddings' Gear Shop

Okay, so I’m doing Nano…

A few days ago on Facebook Mary Robinette Kowal posted about her novel, Shades of Milk and Honey, being a Nanowrimo novel.  I replied with a mention that I wasn’t taking part in Nano this year because I started the novel before November.  She replied with a little known clause known as the Zokutou Clause.  It’s unofficial, but it still works for me.  So, my efforts on Johnny Aurora and the Stone Head will count toward my word count for the month.  I tend to write a pretty brisk pace when inspired so I can get the necessary amount of words down before the month is over.

Last week I made mention of a contest over on i09, asking for stories about an environmental disaster.  I started writing that on Monday, and I watched as I moved through it and it changed from something about an environmental disaster to something about aliens enslaving the human race.  Hmm.  Back to the drawing board on that one.

My assistant-ship job with Apex dissolved this week as the person I was to assist gave her resignation to the Managing Editor.  Meh, it happens.

I finished my review of Steampunk II: Steampunk Reloaded ed. Ann & Jeff VanderMeer and emailed it off to Tangent.  It should go up in a few days.  When its available, I will link it from my “Publications” page listed above.  I then picked up The Horns of Ruin by Tim Akers and I’ve started to plow through it.  Plow through it I am, too.  In three days I’m almost halfway through.  Not too shabby for me, the chronically slow reader that I am.

Yes, I know the book isn’t out yet.  I have an Advance Reader Copy because I’m just that awesome.  Well, that and I’m reviewing it for Bull Spec, so I can get an ARC that way.

As for progress on the novel, well, “One in Twenty,” the short story I mentioned above, dominated my time.  I still got in my required daily word count, but they were directed toward that.  However, yesterday and today I resumed work on Johnny, so I’m getting back on track now.

One response

  1. Just checking in to see how things are going for you.

    April 4, 2011 at 10:21 am

Leave a Reply

